Should students be allowed to choose which classes they take, or should they be required to take the same classes as everyone else? What are the advantages and disadvantages of each approach to education?

Studying is a daunting process through which students can build their careers and have themselves prepared for the market's challenges. However, during the preparation years, should students choose the subjects they need to learn or go through the same classes as everyone. Each approach has some advantages and disadvantages, and a closer look will be taken at each one separately. Allowing students to choose the desired classes could help them find their passion. Learners would be more enthusiastic if they were free to select the courses they like. For example, visual learners might prefer the practical seen lessons over the academic knowledge. However, this comes at a price, like having a vocational graduate without any academic-based knowledge. On the other hand, being stuck with preselected materials as everyone in the same class has its pros and cons. It is advantageous for some endeavours to have standard courses, either student chooses it or not. For instance, a license required professions as medicine requires having certain classes; otherwise, the graduate will not be qualified for giving a medical service to the public. However, the feeling that a scholar is obligated on a preplanned curriculum could be frustrating for many students. A hybrid method could be a good solution by allowing students to have a required graduation courses list and an optional one. In conclusion, allowing students to choose between classes might be encouraging but could have resulted in unprepared graduates. Conversely, course standardization has its advantages, especially for professional graduates, but it could be seen as unwelcome enforcement. I believe a mix between both ways could be a proper solution for that dilemma.