Should English be the only global language

In a fast-changing world where numerous ideas and cultures intermingle, language and communication proficiency ought to be matters of utmost importance. From a worldly context as such, one would have to consider the prospects of having one global tongue used internationally, preferably English. This essay stands for this policy on the basis that it would allow for easier communication and bring about administrative and diplomatic benefits. By having one global language, globalization would be sped up. As a rule, in order for mutual respect and understanding to take place, every side partaking in the affair would have to be able to express their ideas and opinions. The usage of a singular international language may help to speed up negotiations and instill a sense of uniformity, and is also useful to anyone who wishes to travel and socialize more. Seemingly, this is a demand which English may meet, judging from the context that it is already a popular and widely-used language and that many teaching facilities have been equipped to spread English around and about. Other languages, in comparison, do not possess similar potential that English does. By extension, the employment of English as the single language would aid humanity much in terms of economy and administration. According to conventional wisdom, easier communication between parties is synonymous with increased productivity and efficiency. In the scenario where this policy is enacted, for instance, documents and administrative orders would not have to pass through the translation process, because the majority already could understand them. Gone are the days when transcripts had to be translated into different languages, or at least reduced. The burden upon the bureaucracy network and communications body would be lessened, saving money and effort. Therefore, from a practical standpoint, this policy aligns itself with the trends of this ever-globalizing world. Some who oppose this policy may argue that this may have a negative impact on diversity. However, this policy, in its core principles, does not intend to show prejudice to any culture or language; rather it is merely an undertaking to facilitate integration and assimilation into the international community. Drawing to conclusion, this policy elicits enormous potential and may be of great value to mankind of tomorrow if it is administered rationally and correctly.