Scientists and technology experts seem to be more valued by modern society than musicians and artists.

It is argued that people today respect people involved in science more than they do artists. Although this conviction is true to some extent, I do believe that artists are gaining in more popularity in today’s society. To begin with, there are still some people who recognize the contributions made by brilliant minds to our lives to make them easier and better. One good example of it would be when there is a new scientific discovery or technological invention, the people responsible for them are given credits in the news, and even at times awarded with honorary medals. Another indication of how highly regarded scientists are is how much more compensation they receive than artists. It may not be common knowledge that a technical expert earns over $100, 000 per annum on average which adds up to a significantly high number over time. This is decidedly better given the fact that artists tend to make varying amounts of money depending on how often they make art. Therefore, one can still assume that people in science fields receive the respect they deserve. Despite this, I am of the opinion that artists nowadays appear to be gaining more attention from the public than technical experts. This is because people involved in arts, such as singers, actors, choreographers, and composers, seem to have more influence over people than scientists. It is often the case that when an announcement is made by an artist, common people take it more seriously than they would if it was done by an expert. The recent pandemic has shown us that people were more convinced of the severity of the situation when artist celebrities urged them to wear a mask and comply with health guidelines. Moreover, the growing popularity of social media platforms has led people to learn and know more about artists, making them more respected and understood than scientists. In conclusion, in spite of the arguments presented in favor of how much scientists are appreciated today, I choose to believe that artists are receiving more attention and respect from the public.