School stress in teens coming from pressure to succeed, an overwhelming workload and the online school brought on by the pandemic

Teenagers today are facing unprecedented amounts of stress, more specifically more stress in the school setting. They are met with many setbacks when it comes to navigating their academic lives, all contributing to high levels of stress. Regarding school stress in general, an article reviewing a study by the APA stated that 83 percent of teens reported school being a somewhat or significant source of their stress (Shapiro, 2014). This is a pressing issue that affects millions of students yearly, targeting specific factors may help this problem. Teens face many factors related to school stress today, the most pertinent is the pressure to succeed, an overwhelming workload, and the sudden shift to online school brought on by the pandemic. In today's society, high school fosters an environment of competitiveness and puts stress on teens to perform at a high level. They are stuck in a vicious cycle as pressure to succeed leads them to fail. A study researching the links between test performance and pressure surrounding results found that teens perform better in school and feel less stress if they are taught that failure is a part of learning, rather than being pressured to succeed (Autin & Croizet, 2012). This expectation of greatness can not only be blamed on the child themselves, educational standards increase yearly, these only put more stress on students as they try to meet the changing demands. A report published by the Robert Wood Johnson (2018) reported that teens enrolled at high achieving schools are on par with teenagers in the census who are in foster care when it comes to chronic stress levels. This can all be attributed to the academic rigor at these schools, they create a hostile environment while promoting stress in the lives of teenage students. The root of this stress and pressure to succeed is grading. Correspondingly, a Swedish study conducted on a school after a grading system reform resulted in findings that supported this (Högberg, Lindgren, Johansson, Strandh, and Petersen, 2019). They found that once a new system was introduced that put a greater expectation of greatness on students, the stress levels in teens rose considerably, directly proportional to the new reform (Högberg et al. , 2019). Given these points, it is clear that putting too much pressure on teens to succeed is a factor in their school-related stress, followed by the overwhelming workload many teens carry. Schools are constantly stressing the importance of a post-secondary degree and overworking students. This leads to an overwhelming course load given to teens who are left with high levels of school-related stress. On average, teenagers will do more than 3 hours of homework per night, (Conner, Pope, & Galloway, 2013). This is in direct contrast with the 10-minute rule, a rule stating that students should only be doing 10 minutes of homework per grade level (Weir, 2016). For example, a grade eleven should be receiving a maximum of around 2 hours of schoolwork. With this in mind, there is a direct correlation between hours spent on homework daily and stress levels in teens, “more stressed about their schoolwork and tended to report more physical symptoms due to stress” (Conner et al, 2013, p. 499). At the same time, the acceptance rates at top post-secondary institutions are falling yearly. This is causing students to constantly be trying to improve their resumes, thereby filling their workload. According to the Princeton Review (2015), “Over 40% of students responded that getting into college is the main driver of their desire to get good grades” (p. 1). Participants in that survey represent students all over North America who struggle with the same issue. As has been noted, there are significant relationships established between stress and a rigorous workload. This is an important factor in school stress overall, which has not been helped by the current pandemic. Teens were already struggling with school related stress, with Covid-19 it has gotten much worse, majority of students are now forced to adapt to online learning along with all the challenges that come with that. The pandemic has caused a significant increase in the school related stress levels of teens (Mastroianni, 2021). A study supporting this was performed on a group of teens regarding effects of the pandemic found that, “of the 195 students, 138 (71%) indicated increased stress and anxiety due to the COVID-19 outbreak” (Son, Hegde, Smith, Wang & Sasangohar, 2020). Nevertheless, the shift to online school left many teens adapting to online school, however the increase in use of technology is actually a direct contributor to school related stress as well. Studies show that despite growing up in the digital age, technology affects the biomarkers of stress for teenagres more than any other age group (Afifi, Zamanzadeh, Harrison, Callejas, 2018). Overall, the pandemic has been detrimental to teens around the world as they try to bridge the gap between what they once knew and their current situations. For this reason, the pandemic is causing what some specialistas are referring to as a mental health crisis, saying that the effects the pandemic has on teens will cause irreversible damage (Van Beusekom, 2021). Ultimately, students are struggling to handle this new form of learning and are highly susceptible to increased levels of stress as a result.