Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximise chances of employment.

Students spend a great deal of time and money on tertiary study, therefore, the opinion came up, that young people should focus on vocational subjects in order to obtain immediate occupational opportunities. However, not everyone’s passion is located in science, engineering or other technical professions, but there is a need of experts in the future with a deep knowledge conveyed by arts courses. In general, arts subjects, like philosophy and history, enables the students to achieve a wide range of skills. They become active thinkers, who contemplate about various ways to solve a problem, in contrast to passive learners, just trying to learn given models and expertise from others by heart. Philosophy students, for instance, get proficient at critical as well as moral thinking, argumentation and therefore they can be a guide line for the whole society, especially at certain issues. Currently several philosophical groups searching the adequate answer to the question, how to handle with already corona-vaccinated people. Consequently, the abilities of examining and analysing those topics are of undeniable importance, even due to question scientific researches and their results. Furthermore, nowadays there is an increasing need of consulting to the various difficulties for corporations, but also governments, as you can see at the enormous expenditures for these kind of expertise. Nevertheless, the science and business are of doubtless significance and everybody seems to be talented in this section should pursue a university degree and a career in the certain field. Despite this, having any knowledge in logical and analytical thinking or a broad basic from studying arts courses could be a huge advantage. As a result, you are more likely to get creative ideas and find solutions to current problems or identify bias and possible future pitfalls in your life. In conclusion, everyone should study in the field, he likes, and in whose he has the best skills. Therefore, I disagree wholeheartedly with the idea to stop teaching art subjects. Quite the contrary, I even suggest to get at least the basics of the various arts subjects, such as philosophy or history, as they have undeniably benefits, not just for their career, but for their private life too.