Reducing working hours to thirty five hours a week would create employment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this ?

Unemployment has become an immense issue worldwide. To tackle this problem every nation has it's own ways. It is reckoned that reducing working hours to thirty five hours per week would be an effective solution to this problem. However, there are numerous merits and demerits associated with this which will be further discussed in the essay. To commence with the benefits of the idea. First, it reduces the burden and stress of work because lesser the number of working hours lower will be the pressure of work, both of these are directly proportional to each other. Consequently, the hectic lifestyle would disappear and person would be able to spend more quality time with family and friends. For example, if a person works five hours a day then rest of the time he can spend with his near and dear ones. Secondly, it will give opportunity to other deserving candidates as everybody should get a chance to work and then nobody would left unemployed. Further, the poverty ratio would ultimately start eliminating. Resultantly, the number of people living below poverty line can get scope to get an employment to mitigate their hardships. Paradoxically, as every coin has two sides, similarly, there are also some drawbacks of this suggestion. If working hours will be shorten then it will directly affect the salary because less work means less income. Subsequently, it will put bad impact on the financial stability. Therefore, it becomes difficult to fulfill the fundamental necessities due to the low amount of money. Moreover, it increases competition among public. For reason of shortage of work every person tries to be the best, as a result they can acquire some wrong ethics. For instance, individuals start adopting wrong paths in order to earn more. Hence, it would create imbalance among society. To recapitulate, the advantages of shortening working hours overweigh the disadvantages. Thus, to generate jobs to cope with unemployment, the regime can implement this strategy.