Reducing Traffic and Pollution Problems by Increasing the Price of Petrol

In this day and age, the growing population in the metropolitan cities and the sub-urban areas requires more frequent access to the transportation for moving from one place to another, which results in a massive growth of traffic and pollution. Increasing the price of petrol can never be an effective solution to minimize the growing traffic and pollution problems in our day to day life because the mass people will be a victim of the price hike of petrol one way or another. The transportation companies may or may not decrease the number of vehicles in the streets but the ongoing demand of the vehicles will not decrease. People will face trouble during peak hours to find transportation to reach their destination. Instead of increasing the price of petrol, other measures can be taken to solve the traffic and pollution problems. First of all, the decentralization can be implemented to decrease the population in a certain area so that less people will be living in a place and less transportation will be required. Secondly, people can be encouraged to work from home if possible. Thirdly, the government can provide incentive on ecofriendly transportation systems so that big companies and mass people will feel good using electronic vehicles. Last but not the least, the government and non-government agencies can work together to create awareness among mass people. In conclusion, due to the increase of population, the need for transportation is also increasing every day. However, the necessary steps should be taken as early as possible to minimize the damage and eventually, solve the traffic congestion and pollution problems