Public libraries should provide books and not waste their limited resources on expensive high-tech media such as software, videos or Dvds. Do you agree or disagree?

Over the past few years the advances in high-tech media have started to change many aspects of our lives. Some people think that the public libraries should offer the unlimites access to software, videos and Dvds, while other hold that it is only a waste of money. I tend to agree that public libraries need to be equipped with special high-tech media devices. The first point to note is that people are more interested in using technical equipment rather than old-fashioned methods of searching certain information. As the 21 century continues to unfold, people give preference to using new innovations. A telling example is a student prefering utilizing database search engine instead of ordinary library catalogue. For many people, including students, which are always in rush this option is very advantageous. They find book catalogues useless and time-consuming. Despite what has been discussed, the benefits of books ca not be denied. It is an individual choice whether to select books in spite of software. It is undoubtedly all users have different personal characteristics, one might express willingness to read a book in a cosy arm-chair in the library hall. It is a better way of preventing eyesight deterioration as well. Moreover some people are not confident computer users. They might be able to work on computers only under librarian’s assistance. One could draw the conclusion that high-tech media has certainly affected our lives. Public libraries should give access to both: books and the software. It is up to person whatever her or she finds more practical and comfortable to utilize.