Professional sports are a very large industry in the world today. The most elite players can get contracts worth many millions of dollars. Some say there is too much money in sports and that it defeats the purpose of the actual game.

One of the largest consumer-driven industries in the market today is what we call popular sports. The most popular sportsmen and women today get into million and dollars of contract in which for some people may find it to be unwarranted as it actually defeats the actual purpose of sports. But in my opinion, I think the involvement of million-dollar contracts should not be seen as an issue for some of the reasons that I will point out below. First, the sports industry is largely a consumer industry that needs to rake in big bucks. And for them to do that they need to entice the most promising players to sign on their team and the most popular players to be on their team. For example, the late Kobe Bryant was one of the highest-paid athletes in the world. The day he got drafted to join the Los Angeles Lakers it was one of the biggest contracts ever made in sports history. They knew the value Kobe would bring to the Lakers, and with that comes the endorsement deals he was able to close which generated income not only for the brand that he was endorsing or the team he was playing for but also for the industry that he was a big part of. With this, he is saving the sports industry from collapsing as he is bringing in money, thus saving people from losing their jobs. Next is that most elite players and the name that they attach to the sports they play brings appreciation for both fan and non-fans alike. I myself was never a big fan of basketball but upon hearing the things that the late Kobe Bryant or even Lebron James has done beyond the courts they play in I came to appreciate the sports they play and the image that they built. For example, launching academies to help underprivileged children and offering basketball scholarships to kids who have potentials. Yes, it really does defeat the purpose of an actual game but in a good way. And last, most of the popular players today become role models for a lot of people. Some stories I have heard or seen on the news was that sports saved their life and their role models, the popular athletes, played a big part in that. They have become an inspiration to fans and non-fans that they to can achieve anything with hard work and dedication. Overall, I think the million-dollar contracts are justified in a way because we can see the overall impact these popular players bring, not only for the people that appreciate the sport but it goes far beyond reaching the four walls of the stadium or courts they play.