Professional sports are a very large industry in the world today. The most elite players can get contracts worth many millions of dollars. Some say there is too much money in sports and that it defeats the purpose of the actual game.

Sports play a vital role in human development. Even though if it is watching a game, the enthusiasm is incomparable. Some people are of the view that players should play the game for nominal cost rather than getting highly paid. On the contrary, many are of the opinion that the players with talent are capable to get contracts worth millions. Talent to play a sport and to excel in the game requires a lot of effort and struggle. The person playing the sport is not alone to go through the hardships. Their family is with them in all ups and downs. After they gain success, they have an equal right to get compensated for all the sacrifices they and their family have made. In my country, cricket is a religion, and to excel in it, an individual starts training at a very young age and through practice, preservance, and continuous efforts, gets a chance to represent the country. Once the person proves that he/ she is capable to play the game, they start to get recognition and all the hard work starts to pay off and they become an ambassador for the youth. A sportsperson gives their best to reach the top position. Training and resources required to continuously improve the game and stay physically and mentally fit to face opponents require money. The endorsements and contracts give them space to do all this without any worry and concentrate on the game. Thus, indirectly investing the amount in the country's economy by means of taxes and helping governments to build training centers for players to practice. In conclusion, It is justified if players are paid millions for their efforts as they bring in more money through their games from national and international events.