Professional sports are a very large industry in the world today. The most elite players can get contracts worth many millions of dollars. Some say there is too much money in sports and that it defeats the purpose of the actual game.

There are many athletes who get signed on for multi-million dollar contracts throughout the world. Professional sports players not only play for their own countries but can also get recruited by foreign countries with higher offers. Some people say that too much money in the industry defeats the purpose of sports. In order for someone to become a successful athlete, they have to do many things. An athlete has to devote his or her life to endless practicing and faces the risk of serious injury. Compared to the amount of effort athletes put in, however, they have a very short career span. That is why I think they deserve to get paid millions of dollars. In addition, such an investment encourages people to participate in sports more by providing better conditions for athletes and audiences. More money invested in good athletes makes sports livelier, attracting many companies to sponsor different games. This will provide better stadiums and outdoor fields. As sports facilities improve, there will be more comfortable seats and better food. More money in the sports industry will also encourage young children to see their favorite athletes as role models. Money is not the best reason for young kids to envy sports stars, but it will make the sports industry more attractive. In my opinion, professional sportsmen deserve every cent they earn for all the hard work and effort they put into their short career. They are at grave risk of serious injury that might put an end to their careers. So while they are up and running, they should earn as much money as possible.