“Prevention is better than cure”. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measure. To what extent do you agree

It is often argued that it will be more cost effective to put effort into preventing diseases rather than spending a lot of funding on curing them. This essay will argue that while it may be cheaper, some illnesses are almost impossible to take precaution against. On the one hand, a budget that is being spent on studying illnesses is costing an enormous amount of money each year from taxpayers. By investing more time and effort on a preventative measure, that money could be better spend elsewhere. For example, in the case of Covid-19, if government were to put more effort into making sure that people in the country are equipped with proper masks, as well as, imposing strict measures to stop the outbreak. It would cost a lot less money than trying to secure vaccines from other countries On the other hand, there are a wide range of illnesses that can not be prevented through precaution and contracted through genetic. Treatment for these non-preventable diseases will not be possible without research. Furthermore, there will always be a new epidemic due to the evolution of virus and bacteria. Therefore, we need to actively conduct researches and arm ourselves to tackle any unknow viruses that could potentially annihilate millions of people. In conclusion, prevention should be practiced against common viruses to avoid getting sick, but this measure cannot help us avoid illnesses that require medical intervention. Hence, research is absolutely important in order to develop medicines and vaccines to combat these non-preventable, and genetically link diseases.