Preserving minority languages

People have different views about the preservation of endangered minority languages. While some people argue that it is not worth allocating the national budget for this, I believe it is better for these languages to be protected. On the one hand, I can understand the arguments against government funding for minority languages. Firstly, if a language is only spoken by a small number of people, expensive tutorial programmes will be needed to teach people to learn it, thus can lead to extra cost for teachers and marketing. Meanwhile, governments have more important concerns. For instance, national budgets should be devoted to urgent sectors such as education, poverty, technology, infrastructure, . . Secondly, it would be cheaper for a single nation if there were only a language since costs would be cut down on communicating between various ethnic groups. On the other hand, there are several reasons for the urgent preservation of languages which are less widely spoken. A language is more than a means of communication, it has vital connection with cultural identity and unique characteristics of a ethnic group. If a language disappears, we will lose the rich cultural diversity that contributes to the variety of our society. In the long run, the government's spending money on preserving minority languages may create chances to attract foreign tourists that are beneficial for its domestic tourism. In conclusion, despite some oppositions about the conservation of minority languages for financial reasons, I believe that this would have an extremely positive impact on our cultural heritage.