POPULAR HOBBIES AND INTERESTS CHANGE OVER TIME AND ARE MORE A REFLECTION OF TRENDS AND FASHIONS THAN AN INDICATION OF WHAT INDIVIDUALS REALLY WANT TO DO IN THEIR SPARE TIME.

People nowadays carry out various activities in their leisure time. There can be a number of hobbies varying from reading, travelling, cooking, sports and so on. It is sometimes pointed out that many of the leisure activities are mirroring latest happenings demonstrated by popular figures of the society. Generally it is assumed that one's hobbies are driven by the interest of the individual, for example if a person is food lover his interest will be either cooking or food blogging. Another example can be drawn from a health enthusiast who will do exercise or cycling in his free hours. The major advantage of doing things of interest as your favorite pass time activity is that it can be sustained for longer period of time, also it can lead one to higher level of proficiency at what is being done. On the other hand there is a section of people which suggest that there are many individuals who start certain activity because it is the latest trend or a status symbol in his social circle. The adverse effect in these cases are they can not be sustained over the period as the individual did not pursue it as an interest but it was out of compulssion to show case to his social circle. To support the argument, above stated example can be extended wherein people started populating delicacies prepared by them during lockdown on social media because it became a trend to do so. Joining various cycling clubs is also similar example which could not be sustained as it was joined to just show the world and not by interest. So, as it is pointed out many of the hobbies can be due to social compulsion to be part of the flow of popular trends but some other can be product of genuine interest as well.