Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society?

More than 70% of the Earth is covered with water, which not only supports human life on this planet but also is home to many other living species. However, with time and neglegance of some people, the water pollution is on the rise. The rivers, lakes and seas are getting polluted, possessing serious threats to every living organism. This essay will discuss the possible reasons that causes water pollution and what effects does this have on animal life and human society. The first reason is the constantly rise in the population. Although there is abundance of water in this world, the amount that can be used for survival is limited and non perishable. With increased number of people on this planet, the resource is being used, wasted and polluted at a much faster rate. Secondly, rise in number of factories and industries being set up. They contribute majorly in polluting the water resources. For example, the unfiltered and unprocessed wastes of the factories that are discharged into rivers, lakes and seas directly, alone stand for over 50% of contamination of the precious resource. Notably, steep rise in the water pollution have come with severe consequences, epecially for animal life and human society. A latest news report revealed that with a significant rise in plastic waste in the seas and oceans, plethora of dead whales were washed away at the shores. Such incidents show there is certainly an imbalance that is being created in the environment which in some or the other way will affect the humans.