Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society?

Contamination of rivers, lakes, and seas is becoming a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. There are possible reasons why this problem exists, which has greatly influenced the ecosystem and human society. One of the possible causes of water pollution is the overwhelming amount of domestic waste being released into the oceans. This can lead to detrimental impacts on the aquatic biodiversity as some oceanic species will die out as they are going to struggle to survive in such contaminated environment. A lower number of species can result in changes in the food chain, causing animals to have difficulties in finding new food sources. Humans can also be put at a disadvantage as we also consume fish in order to sustain our lives. Another reason for the pollution of rivers, lakes, and seas is the excessive use of chemicals for agricultural and industrial purposes. These chemicals can contaminate the soil and the underground water resources. We are experiencing a time when the worldwide population is constantly growing and the demand for clean water has been a global issue. If the underground water resources are polluted, we would have even less clean water to meet the demand for the daily needs of human society. Therefore, it is required for scientists and environmentalists to come up with a practical solution in order to tackle this problem. In conclusion, there are many possible causes regarding the pollution of rivers, lakes and seas which can result in harmful effects to both animal life and human society. Water pollution is an increasing concern for individuals whose goal is to protect the environment and urgent actions should be taken in order to save the environment.