Plastic bags are terrible for the environment They should be banned everywhere Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer Be sure to use your own words Do not use memorized examples

As technology advanced, people developed multiple products that allow them to live a much more convenient and efficient life but is extremely harmful to the environment. Some people claim that one of the causes of the environment to deteriorate is plastic bags and is now time for us to show effort in preserving the ecosystem by banning the use of plastic bags. However, I disapprove such claim and the reasons to why I believe in such way will be elaborated in more detail below. First of all, banning only plastic bags will not help in preserving the environment. Many alternatives have been presented to replace the use of plastic bags but they are also still detrimental to the environment. I would like to mention one of the replacements which is paper bags. They are known to be far more eco-friendly because it does not ellude any harmful components when decomposing. However, in order to create paper bags, multiple trees need to be cut down and as this continues, a whole forest can be eradicated, eliminating the habitat for multiple wild species. Similarly, plastic bags are not the actual problem of deteriorating the environment, but the excessive amount of thrown away plastics are. Immense amount of plastics are thrown away without being resued these days and caused multiple negative consequences to the ecosystem. However, as technology advanced, these waste of plastics were able to be transformed into plastic bags. Because plastics are malleable, people started to reform the products made with plastic, such as plastic bottles, into bags. Since reusing the plastics for a different purpose is much better than simply throwing them away to pollute the environment. Second, plastic bags may be the only option for certain range of people and banning the use of the product can have unprecedented negative consequences. Plastic bags are much cheaper than eco-friendly products such as paper bags and because of this, there may be people who can not afford to use paper bags even if they desire to. Forcing them to not use plastic bags would have them to go grocery shopping less often, because it is impossible for them to bring large amount of food without plastic bags, and instead to consume already made products such as junk foods. This can lead to lack of healthy nutrients and obesity. To sum up, while plastic bags may be negative to the environment, banning only the plastic bags will not resolve the problem. Alternative products are still detrimental to the ecosystem and plastic bags may be the only option for those who cannot afford expensive eco-friendly bags.