People today spend too much money on clothing to improve their appearance Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer Be sure to use your own words Do not use memorized examples

Appearance is one way for people in showing their identity or characteristics to other people. Some even perceive appearances as a method of communication. Due to this, many believe that improving their appearances is important no matter the cost, but I believe that it is unimportant to improve appearances by spending too much money. The reason to why I believe in such way will be elaborated in more detail below. First of all, spending too much money on appearance to fulfill their desire can lead to poor lives. As technology advanced, many people are using the Internet and social media to connect with multiple people. I would like to mention an example of my home country, South Korea, where negative consequences occurred after spending too much money on clothing. With multiple lockdowns due to Covid-19 pandemic, people started devoting their time on watching Youtube videos. This allowed them have a peek in how other people, specifically those who are rich, live. Rich people starring in Youtube videos always wore expensive and pretty clothes many admired, and caused multiple people to grow perspective that wearing such clothes would allow themselves to look rich. People started to spend a fortune on clothing that are way out of their budget only to fulfill their one desire, to look just like those rich people in the videos. Due to this, many people lost their mandatory valuables, such as cars and homes. The only thing they were left with were expensive clothes and nothing else. Second, while outfits may be the first thing that people perceive when meeting a new person, it is not the only aspect people perceive as important. Having a nice characteristic and being smart is also mandatory. In the past, many parents spent their money on improving the personalities of their children. However, due to being able to connect with multiple people as mentioned above, one time relationships has become a popular phenomenon among teenagers. They started rebelling on their parents to force them to spend money on attractive outfits instead of utilizing it for self-improvement purposes. Due to this, many teenagers nowadays are lacking of intelligence and nice personalities. To sum up, while appearance is one of the important factors in perceiving a person, people are spending far too much money on only improving their appearances. This can cause them to live poor lives and have lack of intelligence and nice personality.