People think that government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems. Give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In this fast-paced society where technology is getting more and more advanced, there are many countries around the globe that have developed and the lifestyle of the citizens are improved day by day over the past few decades. However, while development is getting more triumph, it is yet another destruction to the environment. Development of countries is detrimentally affect a lot of environmental problems, such as global warming. One of the ways is that government should increase fuel cost for cars and I totally agree with this solution. First and foremost, by increasing fuel cost for the cars, this can increase awareness among the citizens that it is important to protect the mother nature. As a consequence, citizens will definitely reduce the use of vehicles due to expensive fuel cost. In this rat race society, it is a norm that there is at least one car in each household and there are billions of people in this world. Imagine that if everyone is using their own car to travel to certain places, the road will eventually become a beehive and the cars will release a lot of harmful gases such as carbon dioxide. This detrimentally affect our environment as well as physical health, such as green house effect and asthma. Therefore I strongly believe that this would be an effective way to increase awareness among citizens. Moving on to my next point, citizens can be encouraged to use public transport by using this method. Despite having public transport in most of the countries, most of the people prefer to use their own car rather than public transport as they claim that it is more comfortable. However, it will be advantageous if people are encouraged to use public transport as this reduces number of vehicles on the road and it will be faster and less polluted gas will be released. . Hence, as a result, environmental problems can be solved. Although increasing fuel cost is a good way to solve environmental problems, it may cause some burden to certain groups of people. For instance, this may be a financial burden to for economically disadvantaged citizens. Some graduates find it challenging to pay for the expensive fuel cost as they still need to pay for other living expenses with their basic salary. Despite it brings many advantages, I think there are still many effective ways to solve this issue other than increasing fuel cost such as organizing talks and campaigns. In a nutshell, there are plenty of ways to solve environmental issues. However, it would be effective if government implement strict rules such as increasing fuel cost. I strongly believe that it will solve many environmental issues in near future.