People should choose their course of study not on the basis of their own interests, but based on the kinds of jobs they can get. with this statement?

It is sometimes argued that students should select their subject of study on the basis of jobs available, instead of what they like. I completely agree with this statement owing to the fact that it  will fulfil the nation's need of workers and also decrease the rate of unemployment. There are several factors which support the idea to choose courses in college according to the job availability. Firstly, it will reduce the unemployment rate because after finishing school there will be an adequate number of opportunities for new graduates. Moreover, It will reduce the country's dependency on foreign workers due to the fact that local people will be sufficient to do the task. Toronto, for example, depends on north Asian technicians to do most of their computer networking work because students here in Canada are less interested in computer technology. The other argument in favour of selecting courses by keeping the job market in mind. It is very easy to get hired if we have skills and experience related to the vacancies available, which is possible only if we look at the future vacancies in  a field and then  study that subject in university. For example, if someone lives in a mining area and he studies metallurgy or chemical engineering then his possibility of getting hired will increase enormously because mining requires engineers to melt and purify ores. In conclusion, I believe that it is good for both the  job seeker and the government if students choose their course wisely in university owing to the fact that it will increase the employment rate and make it easy to get a job.