People now have the freedom to work and live anywhere in the world due to the development of communication technology and transportation. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no doubt that development of communication technology and transportation has allowed people to have flexible choices for working and living in recent years. In my opinion, I believe that this flexibility could bring about more advantages for society compared to its drawbacks which might appear. On the one hand, there are some drawbacks for people because they have working remotely opportunity thanks to the developments on the technology. One of the most major problems is that motivation to work usually decreases when people work remotely. Companies try different methods to reach the same motivation level however, they are not able to do that. Another point to consider is that working form can affect employees’ social life. Especially in some certain jobs, people spend most of their time working and after they have completed their work, they will not want to go out because they feel exhausted. Therefore, they could have some problems in their social life. On the other hand, I think the benefits gained by working remotely are extremely useful for society. Firstly, people do not waste their time to commute. Especially this time can be significant time in mega cities. For example, in İstanbul, an average worker spends 2 hours to commute every day. However, just because of developments and flexibilities in transportation, they can work at home and spend this time on their leisure activities. Secondly, an optimum workplace could be created. People sometimes cannot change their workplace due to office rules. However, no one cannot interfere them about their workplace when they work in their own home. That is why, people could set their best working environment due to developed communication technology. To conclude, even though there are some drawbacks of working remotely, I consider that advantages outweigh the disadvantages thanks to its unique benefits such as allocating more free time and creating ideal workplace.