"PEOPLE CELEBRATE OCCASIONS SUCH AS "INDEPENDENCE DAY" AND "MOTHER'S DAY". DO YOU THINK IT IS IMPORTANT? WHAT ARE THE ADVANTAGES OF CELEBRATING SUCH DAYS? "

CELEBRATIONS, CEREMONIES, AND RITUALS ALL SHAPE THE CULTURE OF A COMMUNITY ON HOW ITS PEOPLE LINK THEIR PAST WITH THEIR PRESENT, WHAT ASSUMPTIONS ARE AT WORK, AND WHAT BEHAVIORS ARE REINFORCED. THE FOLLOWING ESSAY SHALL EXAMINE THE ROLES AS WELL AS THE BENEFITS OF CELEBRATIONS BEFORE A REASONED CONCLUSION CAN BE DRAWN. CELEBRATIONS AND CEREMONIES OCCUPY A PIVOTAL HISTORIC ROLE IN ANY SOCIETY. FIRST OF ALL, THEY SERVE AS MILESTONES BY WHICH TO GAUGE AND EVALUATE HISTORY. FOR INSTANCE, VIETNAM'S NATIONAL DAY MARKS A KEY MILESTONE IN THE COUNTRY'S QUEST FOR INDEPENDENCE THAT USHERED IN A NEW ERA. BY CELEBRATING THIS OCCASION ANNUALLY, PEOPLE CAN REFLECT ON THE PAST TO EXPRESS THEIR GRATITUDE AND ENVISION WHAT MIGHT BE IN THE FUTURE. FURTHERMORE, CELEBRATIONS CAN PROVIDE LIVING EXAMPLES OF THE VALUES OF A COMMUNITY IN ACTION, AND ENCOURAGE PEOPLE TO ACT IN ACCORDANCE WITH THOSE VALUES. AS PEOPLE TEND TO ASSESS THEIR PERFORMANCE NOT ON THE BASIS OF SOME ARBITRARY STANDARD, BUT IN RELATION TO THE PERFORMANCE OF OTHERS, RECOGNIZING INDIVIDUALS CAN PROVIDE THEM WITH MODELS THAT MOTIVATE THEM TO ENGAGE IN SIMILAR BEHAVIOR. EVEN MORE, THEY CAN KINDLE A SENSE OF PURPOSE AND PRIDE IN RECIPIENTS