People believe that sport is an essential part of school life for children, while others feel it should be purely optional.

Many schools have implemented compulsory physical activities as part of their curriculum. while some individuals believe it should be rightly so, others feel every child should choose whether or not they would like to participate. My opinion is that every child should be exposed to some form of sport to encourage the habit of exercising. This essay will discuss my opinion and also, why people may think every child should be given a choice instead of being forced. 55 One of the reasons why some individuals may feel sports should be optional is some children are bad at sports and can unnecessarily get injured doing it. They believe that the child should partake in activities that are pleasing to them, instead of wasting time doing what they dislike. An example is a secondary school classmate of mine who was forced to join the football team, he not only played terribly and caused his team to lose but also ended up getting injured. The injury was so severe he required admission at a federal hospital in our community where he received treatment for 2 weeks. 96 However, the importance of mandatory sports is to encourage the habit of exercising in the young. unless these activities are forcefully included, most young people do not exercise. They spend most of their time in front of electronic devices watching tv and playing video games all day. In a recent research conducted by university of Michigan, results show a significant increase in the number of obese children. The inactivity of children has led to many dying from weight related conditions. A sad victim was my neighbor, uche, who passed away last week from a condition related to sedentary living. To conclude, although children should be given the chance to pick which sport they should participate in, they should not have the option of not doing any sport. This is because physical activities is very important and should be a part of everyone’s daily routine.