Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

Overpopulation of urban areas has been a controversial issue by governments and individuals in recent years. There is evidence that traffic is appeared to be the most serious consequence of overpopulated urban. While there are many ways to mitigate the traffic issue, this has not yet to be solved by authorities or individuals. The measurements that might be taken by governments would be increasing the investments, reducing fares, better urban planning. First of all, raising the level of investments would expand the network of public transit and promote citizens to use public transit more actively. Secondly, citizens tend to prefer public transit much more in case the fare is made to be low or free by governments. However, this option might be only possible in case additional taxes are imposed by governments. Thirdly, it is widely believed that abandoning vertical urbanization such as building upwards will have a positive contribution to the traffic issue. Other than the above statements, individuals’ contributions should not be underestimated. The solutions brought by governments should be supported by actions of citizens such as minimizing the use of private cars, evaluating job opportunities in other low populated cities. Firstly, public transit should be more frequently used by individuals and private cars should be an option for urgent needs. Lastly, individuals might assess job opportunities in other low-tax and low-populated cities considering more comfortable and higher living standards. As a result, the collaboration of government and individuals is understood to be the best way of resolving traffic problems. It won’t eliminate the issue in case individuals continue using their private cars despite the cut of public transit fares by the government.