Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

Now-a-days, as a result of urbanization, cities have become overcrowded, which resulted in several complications. This essay will suggest that biggest problems caused by this phenomenon are pollution and scarcity of water and then submit usage of public transport and building reservoirs as viable solutions. The most common problem in all major urban areas is pollution, due to vast number of people living in those areas. As population increases pollution levels rise as a result of increased usage of private vehicles to commute. Furthermore, water consumption has climbed enormously. Hence, ground wells and rivers have almost dried up in these areas, and now they do not have enough water to survive. For instance, in 2019, the Delhi state released a report stating that 500 out of every 1000 bore wells in the state dried up, whereas there is no sign of water in 200 out if 380 newly dug bore wells. It is pivotal to address these problems or else they can be detrimental in near future. Water is very essential for survival; hence, it is important that we preserve it. The respective governments should construct more reservoirs to preserve rain as well as flood water, and individuals should have their own rain harvesting system to collect rain water and use it precisely. Secondly, if each person reduces the carbon footprints by using public transport such as metros, bus and rail, it is possible to keep a check on pollution levels and breathe fresh and healthy air. The Telangana government stated there has been a curb in pollution levels since the inauguration of the Metro project in 2018, as a lot of public is using it to travel. In conclusion, it is evident that urban areas are prone to problems such as pollution and scarcity of water, due to dense population, which can be addressed by using public transport and preservation of water. Therefore, it is necessary that both public and government should divert their energies in solving these issues.