Overpopulation in many major urban centers around the world is a major problem.What are the causes of this?How can this problem be solved?

It is true that overpopulation is now the main obstacle for a lot of cities. There are a variety of forces that drive this trend and several solutions should be adopted to solve thorny issues which have arisen. There are two primary causes that lead the population to be on increase in metropolitan areas. The first reason is that urban areas host a lot of different national and multinational companies which are responsible for creating a vast amount of workplaces for citizens. And this propensity results in that the majority of countryside residents assume assuming that they can earn more money and thus can increase their standard quality of living with moving to cities. As a consequence, the urban areas now are suffering from the demand surplus by taking more than their original capacity. Another reason is that over the last decades the healthcare system has come a long way which, presumably, has risen the life expectancy of people. For example, at the beginning of 1900s, most of the developing countries were suffering from the high mortality level of children but after the advancements in the medical facilities, this complications have partly vanished. As long as, the government can understand the reasons that contribute to this phenomenon, it can take immediate actions to mitigate this problem. Firstly, the government can establish a local improvement plan for countryside areas and therefore can provide some incentives for entrepreneurs to launch the new ventures. Secondly, the government should impose a higher rate of taxes on whom those who have more than a particular number of children in order to stabilize the growth. For instance, in China, an the effective restriction policy related to the number of children has struck a responsive chord among the society and the birth explosion diminished its velocity. In conclusion, some reasons why the overcrowding is now the main trouble for cities can be identified, and some solutions can be implemented to minimize the negative impacts of this ongoing issue.