One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion.What do you think the causes are?What solutions can you suggest?

Traffic jam is indeed a major hurdle which a lot of cities currently are suffering from. This alarming trend poses many threats and must be addressed by several definite actions. First and foremost, two primary causes lead to the overloading of the roads. The first reason is that majority of people prefer using their private cars rather than using public transport. The underlying reasons for this phenomenon are comfort and safety. Especially in the rush hours, the buses take more passengers than their actual capacity which of course can be inconvenient for people who have just left the work and are exhausted. Furthermore, an absence of the seatbelts in public vehicles worry many parents and therefore they opt to leave their children to school with in/ by their private cars which leads to traffic congestion in the school areas. The second reason is that the constructing construction of new buildings in the busiest streets both that increasing increases both the number of cars in the city centre and constraints the original capacity of the road by seizing its area. However, measures should be taken by the government to alleviate the negative impacts of over-reliance on cars and creating new residential areas. Firstly, the government can confine its local budget to improving the public transport infrastructure by increasing the number of buses in the traffic and provide buses with more safe seats. These alterations will diminish the number of private cars on the roads and encourage parents to let their children use public transport. Secondly, the government can impose a higher rate of taxes on the construction companies which are willing to build houses in some particular areas of the city.