OVERALL SUMMARY OF THE SCHOOL ENVIRONMENT AND CULTURE

In summary, Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Melor has a conducive school environment, especially for the learning and teaching process. SMK Melor is complete with a safe surrounding even though it is located beside the highway. Although some of the school blocks in SMK Melor are faced with noise pollution from the highway, the students still manage to focus in the class because of the systematic management and safe building they have in the school. Besides, SMK Melor also comes with two guardhouses which are located near the two main gates. All of these will strengthen the safety of the students when they are studying in the school. Students and teachers will be at ease and give all their attention to the learning and teaching process in the school. Besides, the SMK Melor environment is also full of various information about the schools and also some general information. For example, they put the vision and mission of the school on the school board. Besides, they also put a lot of information and news about Covid-19. This is because the school management wants to create more awareness for the students, teachers, and staff, so they will be more careful when facing this pandemic. Other than that, most of the school blocks in SMK Melor were full of murals from their art students. The main intention of the murals and drawing around the school blocks is to create a cheerful school environment for the students. It also helps them to become excited every time they want to go to school. Furthermore, SMK Melor also has a clean environment. It can be seen clearly when all of the classrooms in the school have their dustbin. This will help the student to litter their rubbish at the right place. In every classroom, all of them have their duty schedule. That means every day there will be a student on duty to clean their classroom. This action will help the student to become more responsible towards their class and they will also not litter everywhere. Besides, a suggestion for improvement also can be made when the school creates a cleanliness month where the cleanest class will win a prize for every week. This will make the students more excited to keep their classroom clean and it also will improve their teamwork among the classmates. After that, discipline culture among the teacher and staff also can be seen clearly in SMK Melor. Even though all the teachers were instructed to Work from Home (WFH) during this pandemic, but some teachers still need to go to the school to finish their work that needs to be complete at the school office. Besides, all the teacher follows the school SOP tightly. This showed how discipline they are. Some suggestions that can be done to create a more disciplined culture in the school is to give rewards to students and teachers that manage to follow the SOP correctly. It will boost others to be more aware of the school SOP for them to win the rewards. Finally, the work culture among the teachers and staff in the school is very great. It showed when all of them are very disciplined in doing their task. All of the school documents are organized in the right place. This will make all the formal business in school went smoothly. Furthermore, during this pandemic of Covid-19, SMK Melor has tightened their Standard Operating Procedure (SOP) especially when someone wants to visit the school. Every visitor needs to scan their temperature, write down their name and state the reason why they want to visit the school. Because of this, SMK Melor managed to maintain zero cases of Covid-19 among the students and the teachers.