One problem faced by almost every big city is traffic congestion. Why is this happening? What measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Nowadays, traffic jam is serious issue in every urban centers that causes several problems for common people. This essay will highlight root causes of this phenomenon and suggest practical solutions to mitigate it. Perhaps, the major cause of this issue is that high number of vehicle was caused by population and development of economy. In other words, the number of vehicles going traffic is increasing everyday and existing roads are not enough and traffic problem growing. A further reasonable cause is that irrational distribution and lack of conscience make traffic worse and worse. Urban centers in developing countries are expanding so rapidly and contain so many people that room for new roads to handle this new growth is not available. Narrow streets that used to contain mainly bicycles, motorbikes and just a few cars are now clogged with the latter. As for solutions, it is necessary to direct people towards using public transportation instead of widespread using private vehicles especially in rush hours. As the number of vehicles in traffic decreases, traffic will not occur and public transportation vehicles will be able to take you to your destination more quickly. Another viable approach is to construct wide roads and bridges so that traffic can move smoothly during peak hours. Renovating roads, new roads and many more investments should be made for the improvement of traffic. To recapitulate briefly, this essay discussed how the traffic jam is instigated by high number of vehicles and irrational distribution. This essay also suggested two remedies to mitigate the problem: encouraging people to use public transportation and more roads is only temporarily solution. If the above mentioned measures are taken the problem maybe solved viable.