On the proliferation of private cars on the roads in many parts of the world leading to serious problems of pollution and contributing to global warming…Some people think that governments should spend money for the development of public transportation systems in order to alleviate this problem. Others think it is better to spend money for the development of electric and other types of cars that may cause less pollution.

Pollution a small word yet a big dilemma which the modern world is facing. There are various types of pollution like noise pollution, air pollution, water pollution etc. Each one on its own is like a malignant disease which is spreading and destroying everything on its way. Lets take air pollution for instance, it is the leading cause of global warming which itself has many disastrous effects. There are many causes of pollution like with the increase of population there is also increase in the usage of private cars which is causing a lot of air pollution. To limit private cars two solutions are being proposed. One school of thought is that the use of public transportation instead of private cars would decrease the number of cars and thus the pollution. This includes large buses and trains etc that could accommodate large masses of people. The other group believing in modern technology thinks the use of pollution free cars such as electric cars is the key solution to this problem. The engineers are working really hard to develop pollution free cars and this area of technology is progressing day by day. So some people think that the government should invest in this field to decrease the problem of pollution. I would support the first group and would consider public transport a better option. The reason being it would cost less so it would put less burden on the financial resources of the country and similarly at the consumer end it would be economical for the poor people of the country. Electric cars may seems to be a fancy and dreamy option but it is not possible for the majority of the developing countries to invest a great amount of money in this field where children are dying of hunger. In short the rising pollution is the sole reason for many diseases and the drastic climate changes we are seeing nowadays so this problem cannot be overlooked. Measures have to be taken on large scale to alleviate this problem.