Obesity in children is an increasing problem. What are the causes for this? What could be some solutions?

Childhood obesity is becoming an acute problem across the globe these days. Most argue that the issue us a res. In this essay I would be discussing a few causes for obesity in children and probable solutions for them. One of the primary reasons for childhood obesity is the changing dietary habits. Today’s children are eating more processed foods that are high in sugars and preservatives rather than freshly cooked food. Parents themselves give their own limitations of time, find it easier to give their children ready to eat foods, fast foods and the like. A solution to this lies with schools. Food offered in schools can be nutritionally balanced with the right amounts of fibre, proteins and nutrients. Additionally, sensitising children themselves in schools would help motivate them to eat healthier. In addition to unhealthy dietary habits, lifestyle changes have significantly contributed to obesity among children today. The pervasion of technology has meant that children spend a large amount of time indoors on the computer or television screens, rather than engaging in physical activities like playing sport, that will help them burn calories and stay fit. A key solution to this lies with parents, who need to ensure that they strictly regulate the time their children spend indoors. Additionally, programs by local government can further help sensitise parents to the issue. To sum up, I believe that childhood obesity is a tick bomb, in today's age, and if we don’t pay heed to it, we risk the danger of having an unhealthy population in the future. Education and sensitisation of parents is the best way to tackle this, while efforts from governments and other authorities can supplement efforts.