Nowodoys, some counfries ore spending o loi of moneY fo moke il eosier lo use bicycle. why is lhis so? ls if the besl solufion lo lronsport problem?

It is true that many countries, most of which are developed countries, have started investing in the bicycle industry. There are more than a billion bicycles in the world, twice as many as automobiles. ln recent years, bike production has climbed to over 1OO million per year (compared to 50 million cars). This essay intends to analyse the reasons of this phenomenon. I believe that although it is a good solution to the traffic problem, it is not the best solution. The main reason is that these countries realize that cycling is a clean alternative to motorbikes and cars, and so investing in facilities for cycling will help reduce congestion and pollution. Problems related to congestion in the cities of the emerging world continue to grow, and will grow faster than any investment in new roads could match. Secondly cycling is cheaper and healthier than other forms of transport Bicyclist commuters are generally healthier than those who drive motor vehicles to work. They also remain unaffected by OPEC decisions about crude oil production or the price per barrel. Another very important reason for investing in this industry, is the potential of this industry to provide jobs. Every cycle lane which is made, and every cyclist who is created, contributes to job growth. ln Europe alone, more than 6lac people are employed in the cycling industry - more jobs than in mining and quarrying, the steel industry, and even any other automobile industry. The Netherlands, Denmark. Sweden, Japan, Switzerland and many more countries have started investing in a big way and have seen many positive effects. As far as the best solution to transport problem is concerned, I still feel that cycling comes second to public transport. There are a few limitations in the use of bicycles. First, these need to be balanced by the rider in order to remain upright. Not everyone can ride one. Second, there is reduced protection in crashes, in comparison to motor vehicles. Another disadvantage is that there is longer travel time (except in densely populated areas). Cycling is also vulnerable to weather conditions. Finally, a basic level of fitness is required for cycling moderate to long distances. Public transport, on the other hand, caters to all segments of society. There are children, the elderly, the sick, the disabled and pregnant women, who cannot ride a bicycle. To summarise, there are many motives for countries to invest in making cycling easier, which have been explained in the above paragraphs. However, cycling is not the best solution to transport problem. lnvesting in public transport takes the lead in this arena.