Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

It is definitely true when people say "One man's trash is another man's treasure. " In the current times, people have become more aware and conscious of how much waste they produce, and often try to recycle it. While these measures do help, one must question themselves about how much do these measure help our environment and fellow humans? In this essay I will try to answer your question on why do we think the production of rubbish has increased? And, how can the government help reduce it? To answer the question of "Why? " I would like for us all to think, understand and realise how much easier it is for consumers to consume today. With a sum of loyalty programs, sales, deals and rewards programs people find it easier to not just consume but also get rewards on their consumption, for example, the Tim Horton's Rewards program, for every x number of coffee's a person consumes and scans, they get a coffee free. All of us, love the idea of free products, but do we stop and think whether we actually need them or not? Now, their are multiple ways government or even the brand owners can do to help. For one, instead of giving back to the costumer who is able to consume these products without much of a struggle, these free products can be collected and given to the homeless communities, or non-profit organisations. Although, most companies do give back to the community, once or twice a year, imagine how much difference it would make if they did this on a regular basis. In addition to this, government can also intiate educational programs through public outreach programs. One such example is to make compost complusory for each household in the country, and providing information about the benefits of composting through libraries in the communities. In cloclusion, there is plenty that can be done, and I am sure will be done to reduce or reuse the garbage we produce. Even if each household takes responsibility to compost instead of throwing waste away, we will be able to live a brighter, greener, fresher tomorrow.