Nowadays, the amounts of rubbish are constantly increasing in many countries of the world. Why is it happening? How can it be controlled and eventually reduced?

Garbage accumulation, which is one of the serious problems in many countries, has become a controversial topic nowadays in terms of its obvious increasing. This essay will further explain the influence of the educational level on this issue, and then it will present taxation as a veiled solution to control its spreading. To begin with, the lack of education is considered the major contributing factor in raising rubbish in many landfill sites around the globe. To clarify, many poor educated people do not have the minimum awareness about the importance of resources. They throw away massive amounts of recyclable items which have piled in landfills. One particular example is the rural areas in Egypt, such as Giza Suburbs which have been experiencing an enormous increase of rubbish in landfills due to the ignorance of its residents about this waste value. Hence, the lack of education and awareness plays an influential role in debris accumulation. On the other hand, governments should impose taxation on citizens’ waste; this would be an effective procedure to control the increasing of the garbage problem. That is to say, imposing taxes on unusual amounts of waste may help to reduce this misuse of resources and their piles in waste-yards. Many developed countries, Canada for instance, tax its residents and citizens on their household rubbish when this waste exceeds the average amount. Thereby, if authorities impose a tax on the great amount of trash, this will likely control its amount. To conclude, having discussed the shortage of education influence on the continuous increase of waste in many parts of the world as a result of the lack of resources awareness and its misuse, this problem can be solved by imposing taxes on unusual amounts of individuals’ trash.