Nowadays some older people choose to live in the retirement communities with other people rather than living with their adult children. Is it positive or negative development?

Gediatrics should spend their retirement life is a question of great significance not only for them but also for the entire society. However, some elder people tend to live in the retirement centre rather than their own home. I think this phenomenon brings more merits then demerits. To begin with, there is no doubt that sending senior citizens to retirement communities can deplete adult pressure in providing health care to their elder parents. As people get older, they are increasingly prone to a series of medical problems such as cardiovascular disease and cancer. If, the elderly people opt to live in retirement homes they will be taken care of by health professionals so that their health will greatly improve. Moreover, another great thing about living in a retirement communities is amenities they could have available. For an instance, in Canada, many communities offer residents access to service such as exercise facilities, fitness classes, and adult education. Some also have health and personal care facilities on site. Apart from this, there are two sides of every coin. There are some demerits of living in a retirement home: loss of freedom and independence - the loss of freedom and independence might cause them to lose self-esteem as they are no longer in control of their own life; Retirement homes are expensive - many retirement home provides plethora of amenities for them so they want more money; Retirement homes can be depressing - uprooting a loved one from the family and comfort of the merely home they have know years can cause depression. For instance, according to the most recent "cost of care survey" an annual report published by LIC - life insurance company Genworth in California, the average rate for a retirement home runs 307 per day, totaling more than 112, 00 per year. If your loved one does not have plenty of savings set aside to help cover the cost, a retirement home might simply not be an option your family can afford. In conclusion, due to the professional care service and social bond retirement home offer, I think living in the Institutions can be seen as a positive development.