Nowadays, some children spend many hours every day using smartphones and other devices. The advantages of allowing children to own these devices outweigh the disadvantages?

It is a fact that in recent years, some children spend a huge amount of time per day on using smartphones or other intelligent devices such as laptops. This trend will introduce both pros and cons, but I am in an agreement that the benefits do outweigh the drawbacks. On the one hand, using smartphones and other smart devices constantly would bring several disadvantages. One evident disadvantage is that children are able to be addicted. It means that children will spend almost their time on using smartphones or laptops instead of spending time on participating other healthy activities such as reading books. This causes their low score in school and affects their concentration when they study in traditional ways without technology. Moreover, when children use smartphones or laptops uncontrollably, their health will be affected badly. For example, if a child sits in front of the screen of smartphones or computers perennially, his eyes will be tired and even cause short-sightedness. On the other hand, I argue that using smartphones or smart devices a lot would bring more benefits. The first great advantage is that smart devices can develop children's creativity and imagination. It means that children's brain can absorb vivid images and sounds through their eyes and ears, which can help children know more about the world with a variety of topics. The second advantage is that children who live far from their family can keep in touch with their parents easily by smartphones or laptops. For instance, parents or grandparents can control their children's safety easily and effectively. Some people argue that using smartphones constantly is a great distraction for children's studying. I suppose that children nowadays can study online with a lot of reliable sources of information, so children can learn online by their smartphones or computers. In conclusion, spending much time on using smartphones or other smart devices would bring more positive aspects for children although there are several notable downsides.