Nowadays plastic money replacements such as credit and debit cards are extremely popular, even more than banknotes and coins. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this. Nowadays plastic money replacements such as credit and debit cards are extremely popular, even more than banknotes and coins. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

Credit and debit cards, which are primarily used as replacements of plastic money or banknotes, have become an indispensable part of our day-to-day life, and in many cases, are more popular than conventional currency. While these cards have many advantages, their negative aspects should not be ignored. For a start, using these cards confers advantages over cash. The obvious advantage of plastic money replacements is that it obviates the need to carry hard cash. Cards have not only provided users with convenience, it has also saved them the inconvenience of carrying standard banknotes. For example, when a working executive’s job involves frequent inter-state travel she or he has to entail considerable expenses such as food, accommodation, travel, and so on. In such a situation not only is it burdensome to carry cash, but it also poses a risk of theft. In addition, cards facilitate online transactions or paying from home. Put simply, it paves the way for making online payments, transfer of funds, and several other transactions in just a few clicks. Credit and debit cards, however, have some drawbacks. One of the major hindrances of credit cards is a high-interest liability. While it is true that credit cards give cardholders ample time to pay for purchases made through it, high-interest is charged if they fail to pay on the lapse of a period. Besides, impulsive purchases are commonplace owing to having the ease to make payments. Moreover, when people make an online purchase through credit cards, there is a certain amount of risk involved as they share their bank details on the internet which is not always a safe place. There are certain malicious websites to steal financial information and loot money thereby. To recapitulate, plastic cards confer both advantage and disadvantage. It is therefore very important to be cautious while using them.