Nowadays people use bicycles less as a form of transport. Why is this the case? What can we do to encourage people to use bicycles more?

Although riding a bicycle is an excellent way to stay healthy, the number of people using bikes for daily travelling has been declining. This situation arises from several reasons and could be tackled by some explicit measures. There are a variety of causes of the decrease in people’ interests in cycling. First of all, cyclists have to face the risk of having traffic accidents. Due to the small size of the bicycles, the riders could easily be concealed in blind spots of cars and trucks, resulting in numerous detrimental crashes for the cyclists. Furthermore, individuals are scared of their bicycles being stolen from the parking sites because of the insufficient security equipment in those places. A survey in 2010 revealed that nearly 40% of bike riders had been worried with the safety of their vehicles in the cycle parking. A number of actions can be addressed to persuade people to use bicycles for the daily basis. From the government perspective, they can reduce cyclists’ dangers of sharing roads with other means of transport. This can be done by building more cycle paths and banning other vehicles from traveling in bike lanes. From the employer perspective, managers can provide their employees bike parkings racks for those who want to bike to work. In Holland, lots of enterprises had equipped facilities for the cyclists to encourage their workers to cycle to work and benefit from the mileage allowance of the company. In conclusion, cycling is still not the main method of travelling in many countries. It derives from the threat of incurring in collisions and the threat of vehicles thieves. Strong measures such as providing more cycle paths and parking facilities as well as strict regulations for preventing automobiles from going in bicycle trails should be employed to tackle this situation. It is predicted that if those remedies are adopted, our society might observe several bike renaissances.