Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed. What is the reason for doing this? Is this a negative or positive development?

Its common to see the pressure on children is mounting as most modern parents think that this will fetch their children success. Factors attributing to this are diverse in nature and the question whether this is a positive or negative development remains in the minds of many even after a thorough discussion. The first underlying reason behind this trend is the ‘cut-throat competition’ which was very unlikely in the past. For instance, many are seen struggling to meet both ends of their life. Another attributing factor is the intense desire to success in the parent’s minds. Many parents try to fulfill their dreams which they strived once in their life through their children. Turning to the positive side of this trend, the increased success rate is the highlight. When more pressure is on the shoulders of a child, he is more likely to embrace success. Similarly this helps a student to concentrate in his ‘road to success’. To be precise, when a student is made sacrifice his play and other entertainment activities for his studies, in one way it helps him to abstain from distractions. On the other hand, the worst challenge a student might face is the immense stress which affects a child’s normal psychological development and this in turn results in poor academic performance. Another drawback is the emotional maladjustment a child is prone to at a very young age, which may result in problems of interpersonal relationships with his parents. After analyzing the matter in detail, it is understood that competition and intense desire to success are the prime catalysts behind this trend. However, it is hard for many to decide on whether it is a positive or negative development.