Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the solutions

It is impossible to disprove that there are numerous students in the world who do not choose science as their majors. In this essay, I will address two main reasons and two adequate solutions for this phenomenon. Firstly, those majors are considered boring and very difficult to learn. Those majors not only require intelligence but also patience, so students tend to choose less demanding disciplines like business, education or art. In addition, science is an extremely competitive industry. For example, after struggling many years to graduate, they still need to specialize further in some particular science subjects to get a well-paid job. This may discourage students to choose science as their preferred major. A possible solution to this problem would be motivating students more during their study by rewarding more for the hard-working students, this because studying is the long journey and it is really hard to see the progress in the short term, this is especially true for science subjects where students have to put significant effort into their studying for a long period of time, short-time rewards allow them to see the results easier due to the fact that people are likely to do something more if they are rewarded more. Another solution is building a job reference system to help new graduate students find the jobs that fit their needs and expertise, this solution not only fills the needs of the job market but also make students feel less worry about developing their career and choose science majors. To conclude, the bottom line of this phenomenon is the difficulties of the science majors and finding job opportunities, we can solve this problem by rewarding equal effort from students and helping them to get the right jobs.