Nowadays, more people would rather purchase food than cook at home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend? Give ideas about which is a better way according to you and why?

Due to the busy lifestyle, people are consuming more of the processed food in spite of cooking food for themselves. There could be several merits and demerits of this uprising trend. In my opinion, homemade food is far more beneficial as compared to readymade food. To commence with the benefits, packaged products such as pasta, noodles, etcetera are easily available in the market. They are instant food products and just need boiling or reheating which in turn save our time. Also, people get so tired after their hectic routine that they lack the energy to prepare meals. Therefore, they find it useful to buy readymade food products. In addition, this type of processed food is easy to carry everywhere, even while travelling. In fact, due to additives and taste enhancers, individuals, especially children, love their taste and their salivary buds are stimulated by these sorts of meals. Despite these benefits, there are ample drawbacks. Firstly, these products are processed and lack their natural nutrition. What is more, many preservatives are added to increase their shelf life which has several health hazards to consumers. For example, sodium benzoate is one of the popular compounds used for preservation of packed foods which occasionally can be life-threatening. Secondly, although they are vacuum packed, they can get contaminated by various microbes and cause an abdominal disturbance sometimes causing other lethal diseases like food poisoning, botulinum and many more. Additionally, these products can also be expensive for consumers to afford. To recapitulate, I believe that the use of readymade foods has a plethora of detrimental effects and home-cooked food can provide plenty of nutrients to stay healthy and develop immunity.