Nowadays more and more people want to get things done instantly. Why is it? Do you think it is a positive or negative development? rorm

In the modern world, the concept of instant gratification has gained popularity among people. This essay highlights the lack of patience as the primary reason behind it and argues that it is a negative development as it accelerates our dependency on technology and acts as a gateway to a variety of mental health disorders. The main source of this issue is the lack of patience in the general population. Ever since technology made everything accessible to us, ranging from food to social interaction, the concept of instant results has grown visibly. Even though it has simplified our way of living, it has also led us towards impatience if we don’t notice immediate results. When devoid of immediate results, we tend to get more restless. I have personally observed people in my social circle getting agitated if their taxi is delayed by a few minutes. While some believe that expecting spontaneous results reflects on one’s enthusiasm for getting work done, I am of the opinion that it is a negative development. Increased use of various media providing instant results leads to an isolated lifestyle where one is dependent on technology and validation from others. This forms a vicious circle where they keep setting targets that bring them instant happiness due to the underlying anxiety acting as a catalyst. This has become one of the leading causes of depression and other problems. In a survey conducted by one of the youth organizations, it was revealed that about 70% of the population experiences some form of mental distress due to lack of instant gratification. This further emphasizes this concept has been detrimental to society. In conclusion, I believe that wanting quick results stems from a basic lack of patience and is a negative development as it increases dependence on technology and acts as a fuel for many conditions related to mental health.