Many people believe that social networking sites (such as facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society.

It is commonly believed by some people that social networking sites have a detrimental effect on individuals as well as society. Although, there certainly are many advantages of such sites but as a whole it has a negative impact on the society. This essay will discuss both views to this assertion. There are clearly many advantages of social networking sites that are beneficial for the members a society. Firstly, people are able to connect to their distant relatives and friends at any time of the day which otherwise would not have been possible without the advent of such sites. Secondly, these sites act as a platform for many to showcase their hidden talents to a virtual audience by posting it online which has rather become easier for people than ever before. Thus, the individuals get an opportunity to be in the limelight which is overwhelming for their personal growth. On the other hand, social networking sites have had varied negative impacts on the society. People nowadays prefer to communicate over internet rather than physical gatherings within their local communities which has consequently affected the social morals and values that they used to possess. Furthermore, the quality of relationships people used to share has degraded as they tend to spend more time over virtual conversations with fake profiles over the web that mostly result in deceptions. This loss in terms of weak human connections has damaged the communities and society. To conclude, although social networking sites have benefited the growth of individuals but the society seems to degrade with its negative impacts. Therefore, society needs to evolve by bringing about a change that detaches more people out of their virtual lives and helps them connect to the real world.