Nowadays, more and more people are having consumer goods like refrigerators and washing machines. Does this development bring more advantages than disadvantages

Durable consumer goods have gained popularity in this modern era. Many households around the world heavily rely on household appliances to cook and preserve food for a short period of time. That means numerous people own electric appliances like refrigerators and washing machines. This essay discusses why the benefits of using these devices moderately outweigh the drawbacks. To begin with, electronic goods used in households consume enormous amounts of electricity owing to the fact that they are used numerous times every day. This results in a surge in the amount of electricity consumed per household compared to the past. While the power stations are generating enough energy at present, there could be shortage of it in the future. There are other downsides too. Home appliances make human labour redundant. Consequently, people are leading highly sedentary lives now and have health problems as a result. Refrigerators and air conditioners are also known to increase the greenhouse effect. On the other hand, these appliances save time and are fairly convenient. Since working professionals do not have time for cooking every day, they can prepare meals and store them in the refrigerator. Similarly, washing machines take care of the laundry without much interference by individuals. As such, these machines come in handy by serving humans at all times and easing their chores. For example, young people do not have to learn to wash their laundries manually; instead, they can put them in the washing machine and carry on with their other tasks. This makes them more efficient and they can complete more tasks in limited time. Hence, these machines play the crucial role of being a life saver for most people around the globe. In conclusion, owning consumer appliances both pros and cons. Despite consuming excessive amounts of energy, these goods support humans by assisting them in daily duties and thus saving time. As a result, I believe that having and using these goods daily can undoubtedly prove more advantageous than disadvantageous.