Nowadays, many people held the theory that non-profit organisation services should be implemented with the high school system. I think it is a valuable idea to require high school children to participate in unpaid community services in order to not only improve students’ personality but also communication skills.

It is often argued that volunteering should be mandatory for high school, whereas some people state that community services should lie on individual’s will. In my point of view, this is a great idea to require high school children to participate in unpaid community services in order to graduate. Firstly, I believe that volunteering gives opportunity for high school students to increase their sense of self-efficacy. This is because students realize that they can actually change the world for the better. As a result, students will understand their competence, which leads to self-confidence and further can-do attitude in their workplace or academic life. For example, a lot of famous stars claim that the community of volunteers in high school encouraged them to support the vulnerable and less well-off in society, so that nowadays they always try to do things for charity. That is why it is important to engage children to assist the community from the school years. Another point to consider is that volunteering develops students’ communication competence, because they will learn build new relationships in the society. They have to interact with people with different backgrounds, whether it is cleaning up a park, tutoring young learners or raising money for charity. Consequently, high school students will improve their networking skills, such as being a part of a team, leadership skills and be ready for adult life. To conclude, I strongly agree that unpaid community services should be mandatory in high schools, as it provides a range of facilities to grow both personally and socially.