IF CHILDREN ARE NEVER EXPOSED TO RISK, THEY WILL NEVER BE ABLE TO COPE WITH RISK

Everybody knows that vulnerability provides an excellent opportunity for them to grow into a better person. The problem is only a few people who are willing to take risks. It is our nature as humans who want to continue to be in the comfort zone. As a result, to avoid the prospect, people more likely to play safe. Only when there is pressure and coercion from the outside makes us take risks. Even the environment also teaches us to play safe. Just as parents forbid children who have finished college to do business, forbid trying new things that parents feel are not suitable for children and many other examples are easy to get in our daily lives. In this essay, I will give both the reasoning that people should encourage or discourage children exposed to risk. There is some logic for parents to encourage their children to expose themselves to taking the risk. One of the points is that children can find out their best potential. Children naturally have very high curiosity; thus, they will try to do something new that they want and like. Through experiencing a lot of trials and errors, children will be able to determine what they want, and later on, are going to feel that they have talents in specific fields. After that, children will get the chance to grow and develop their character. The character itself can be determined by how many hazards someone has taken and overcome. The higher and more massive the exposure someone takes, the more qualified that person could become and vice versa. Basically, children have an excellent opportunity to develop and become a better person. When they can successfully pass that barrier, they will raise themselves to the highest level. For example, if you want to lose weight, do not just think of torturing yourself while exercising. Instead, keep on using and look for other ways that can help you achieve your goals. As a parent, giving a little more freedom to children can also be the right decision. It is because by restraining their future dream, it can limit their independence because they were not trained to be broad-minded about thinking about the outside world. On the other hand, there are several reasons why parents often avoid their children at-risk exposure. First, some parents worry about the danger that may harm their children. Those parents can not bear themselves to see their children being hurt, which made the parents becoming more protective of their children. We know that children are naturally clumsy; hence by exposing to hazard it can put them in danger. Another reason is the possibility to fall into an unhealthy or toxic relationship with family, friends, or acquaintances. The innocent children who do not have specific 'standards' or the appropriate principles on how to behave in their social environment can have a huge chance to be exploited. The last, parents usually have decided on the forthcoming of their children, including the proper steps to achieve it so that the children do not have to be exposed to uncertainty. That is because parents barely believe in the subsequent that is chosen by their children are the legitimate one based on the parents' opinion. In conclusion, we can see that there are several reasons why parents encourage and discourage children exposed to risk. The fear of failure is the most significant cause of why many people do not want to take risks. If you're going to succeed, you most likely have to take and overcome the threat. There is no other way to get to the top of success without taking risks. People who like to avoid uncertainties often over thinking about the pain or the suffering rather than the pleasure they can get if they can successfully pass through it. Based on my perspective, allowing children to expose risk is way better than avoiding it because it can affect the child's future. By giving more freedom, children can find their own identity and develop their potential. Nevertheless, parents also play an essential role in taking care and supervising their children to expose risks so that they will not be impacted negatively.