Some people think that the best way to increase road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike.

Citizens across various nations can get a valid driving licence when upon becoming 18. While it is generally considered to be a proper age for obtaining car-driving skills, some people assume the age of 25 is more appropriate. From my perspective, though the shift of the legal driving age brings out some potential benefits, such a proposal is not justifiable. People become mature enough to make decisions and be responsible for them earlier than at 25. Foremost, people who decry current legislation and persist on its change are at the belief that young drivers can be dangerous to others as well as for themselves. Such adversaries refer to statistics that depict people younger than 25 are getting into accidents on roads more frequently. Furthermore, an illustrative example of existing risks would be that numerous insurance companies sell their policies with an extra markup for individuals under 25. Consequently, if the minimal driving age increase, this will probably translate to the decrease of injured in car accidents. Despite these valid objections, I do not share this viewpoint. On contrary, proponents of driving at the age of 18 places great emphasis on individuals' freedom and claim that people start bearing the burden of legal responsibility at the same age. Consequently, rights must come in parallel with the duties of adulthood. Furthermore, they believe that a private car is an essential element of the lifestyle of a grown-up. For instance, it helps to fulfil the necessity for transportation in major cities with poor public services such as Los Angeles. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinions, I suppose the actual impact of the proposed changes is questionable. These statistical differences are negligible and relate to a driving experience rather than to age. Nonetheless, the minimum driving age increase discriminates young adults and cause serious inconvenience for them.