Nowadays, many people drive to work or school instead of walking, cycling or using public transport. Does this trend have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Going to work or school on foot, by bicycle, or through public transport has been replaced with driving private cars by a lot of citizens. Although using these vehicles is more convenient, I opine that it has a great number of drawbacks which prevail over its benefits. There are quite a few plus points associated with using private cars instead of utilizing public means of transport, walking or riding a bicycle. In other words, it can provide privacy and convenience for the driver and passengers. For example, not only can using private vehicles prevent the disgusting sweat caused by walking or cycling, but also it can eliminate the need for standing and squeezing in crowded buses where usually have an obnoxious odor. Hence, some citizens prefer driving to their destinations over the aforementioned activities. Nonetheless, replacing public transport utilization and healthy activities with private cars to reach a destination can damage not only the environment but also humans. Firstly, the more people’s daily lives are depended on machines rather than their own bodies, the more they are likely to have an unhealthy lifestyle. For instance, cutting down on physical activities such as taking walks might lead to various diseases such as type-2 Diabetes. Moreover, if public modes of transport are used less than private ones, the greenhouse gas emissions will be shot up which results in disastrous consequences on the environment and its creatures. Therefore, had the environment been properly considered by individuals, they would not have spoiled it with the exhaust fumes of their own cars. In conclusion, the serious negative impacts of utilizing private cars instead of environmentally-friendly approaches to get the destination far outweighs its minor advantages, since it might ruin the environment in an irreversibly way.