Nowadays, many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. why might this be the case? what could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Recently, being a self-worker has been popular among the majority of people comparing to be an employee at a company or organisation. This trend happens due to the flexibility of time and the high amount of gained income. Nevertheless, the stability of long-term self-worker should be considered as it might be one of the drawbacks. Having an unfixed working schedule and unlimited salary is a sample of the opinion why people tend to begin their own business- as self-employed. As more and more expenditures become skyrocketed, while the wages that earn from being worker at a company have not any increase, people try to figure out solutions for their well-being. Apart from this, they can choose when they will be on duty and take a rest. In Indonesia, many fresh graduated start their own business by selling products or services online, rather than sitting to walk-out interviews for a big company. It can be seen from a decreased number of applicants either in public companies, such as Indonesia Fuel Company (Pertamina), or private companies. Ironically, however, there is a fear that should be thought of by being self-employed: sustainability of the business. Since all the risks are in the founder’s court, they are the ones who can predict how long their own start-up will exist. If they cannot manage well it, hardly does it survive in business battles. When one who is without any experience and networking establishes their business, it is highly likely to be a short-term business. In conclusion, despite the benefits of being a self-worker, namely having a lot of spare time and a high rate salary, someone should think about the challenge which is possible to deal with, long-term business existence.