Nowadays, large numbers of goods sold in society are mostly due to advertising and not due to individuals’ essential needs. In this modern age of advanced technology, means of advertising can be more diverse and effective as compared to decades ago.

It is undeniable that nowadays, large numbers of goods sold in society are mostly due to advertising and not due to individuals’ essential needs. In this modern age of advanced technology, means of advertising can be more diverse and effective as compared to decades ago. While television, magazines, and posters were the solely available mediums to promote a product or service in the past, today’s modern age has led us to use websites and social media, which easily promote anything effectively. Most people are more accessible to those resources simply at their fingertips through smart phones. As people spend most of their time on the internet, constant exposure to online advertisements is unavoidable. People tend to follow trends on social media or their favourite celebrity. For instance, some popular products’ sales skyrocket when a celebrity or an influencer recommends them. Furthermore, it is so hassle free to purchase anything online. From grocery, personal goods to furniture, almost any product can easily be bought with a click, not needing to leave your house. Not surprisingly, with such convenience, people tend to buy more than necessary. To some individuals, online shopping has become their pastime or a solution to relieve stress. To conclude, I truly believe that a large number of sales are propelled by powerful advertising. Those goods are indeed more than what society needs. Consumers should be more mindful of what they are spending their money on, considering the product’s value as well as potential financial strain.